USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2012-2013 using the 2010 census data. This review, which is done every five years, will utilize the 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data.

Based on the 2015 ACS data and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB-1-3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas:


1) Ardmore, OK-review of city limits

2) Bartlesville, OK-population over 35,000

3) Bixby, OK-RIC/eligibility review

4) Broken Arrow, OK-population over 35,000

5) Choctaw, OK-RIC/eligibility review

6) Claremore, OK-review of city limits

7) Duncan, OK-review of city limits

8) El Reno, OK-review of city limits

9) Enid, OK-population over 35,000

10) Glenpool, OK-RIC/eligibility review

11) Guthrie, OK-RIC/eligibility review

12) Lawton, OK-population over 35,000

13) Muskogee, OK-population over 35,000

14) Oklahoma City, OK-population over 35,000

15) Owasso, OK-RIC/eligibility review

16) Ponca City, OK-review of city limits

17) Sand Springs, OK-review of city limits

18) Sapulpa, OK-review of city limits

19) Shawnee, OK-RIC/eligibility review

The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to

For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Oklahoma Rural Development Housing Program staff at (580-726-3347, Ext. 113)