



NOTICE OF CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

USDA Rural Development has completed its 2020 decennial United States census review for all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for USDA Rural Housing programs. Based on the review of the areas within the state of North Carolina using 2020 US census data, and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, <u>Chapter 5</u>, the rural eligibility designation has changed for the following areas:

Areas whose rural eligibility designations is changing from eligible to <u>ineligible</u> (these areas no longer qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs):

Expansion of the ineligible areas around the city limits:

1. Kernersville, NC

Rural Development

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

- 2. Archdale, NC
- 3. Mebane, NC
- 4. Carrboro, NC
- 5. Statesville, NC
- 6. Fuquay-Varina, NC
- 7. Knightdale, NC

New ineligible areas:

- 1. Winterville, NC
- 2. Murrayville, NC
- 3. Myrtle Grove, NC
- 4. Leland, NC
- 5. Spout Springs, NC
- 6. Belmont, NC
- 7. Clayton, NC
- 8. Waxhaw, NC

Changes become effective October 1, 2023.

The updated rural area map can now be viewed on our <u>eligibility website</u>. Users will need to click on the program, for example: "Single Family Housing Direct", and then click on "Proposed Eligibility Areas" from the menu options.

For a full list of changes, additional details, or questions about specific changes, please contact William Kenney Rural Development Housing Program Director at 919-873-2051.

- 8. Harrisburg, NC
- 9. Monroe, NC
- 10. Garner, NC
- 11. New Bern, NC
- 12. Hope Mills, NC
- 13. Thomasville, NC