NOTICE OF POTENTIAL CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

INDIANAPOLIS, March 8, 2023 - USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data. Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.

Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, <u>Chapter 5</u>, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in Indiana:

Currently eligible communities under review to become ineligible:

- 1. Boone County Lebanon
- 2. Hendricks County Danville
- 3. Jackson County Seymour
- 4. Lake County Lowell
- 5. Morgan County Martinsville

Ineligible communities under review (expansion of ineligible areas):

- 6. Allen County Fort Wayne
- 7. Boone County Area north of County Road 300 North
- 8. Clark County Area west of Clarksville
- 9. Elkhart County Elkhart and Goshen
- 10. Floyd County New annexed area of New Albany
- 11. Grant County Marion
- 12. Hamilton County Newly annexed areas of Westfield, and newly annexed areas of Noblesville
- 13. Hancock County McCordsville
- 14. Hendricks County Area north of Brownsburg
- 15. Madison County Newly annexed parts of Anderson
- 16. Lake County Crown Point, Winfield, and Palmer
- 17. Shelby County Newly annexed area of Shelbyville
- 18. Tippecanoe County West of West Lafayette

19. Vigo County – Area south of Terre Haute

Ineligible communities under review (reconsideration of eligibility):

- 20. Bartholomew County Area southeast of Columbus
- 21. Delaware County Daleville, western Yorktown, north of Muncie, and south of Muncie
- 22. Elkhart County Area northwest of Goshen
- 23. Grant County North part of Gas City
- 24. Howard County Areas southwest, northwest, and northeast of Kokomo
- 25. Johnson County Area west of SR 37, and areas outside the city limits of Greenwood, Whiteland, and Franklin
- 26. La Porte County Shrink the ineligible area west, south and east of the City of La Porte, and an area east of Michigan City
- 27. Madison County Everything outside the city limits of Anderson and Edgewood
- 28. Porter County East part of the county east of Chesterton
- 29. St. Joseph County Area south of Mishawaka
- 30. Wayne County North of Richmond

The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to <u>Vincent.Maloney@usda.gov</u>. For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Vince Maloney, Indiana SFH Program Director, at (317) 295-5774.