NOTICE OF POTENTIAL CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data. Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.

Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, <u>Chapter 5</u>, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in Arkansas:

Currently eligible communities under review (population):

Benton County – Bella Vista

Benton County - Centerton

Benton County – Siloam Springs

Clark County - Arkadelphia

Crawford County – Van Buren

Crittenden County - Marion

Crittenden County – West Memphis

Greene County - Paragould

Lonoke County - Cabot

Miller County – Texarkana

Pope County - Russellville

Pulaski County – Jacksonville

Pulaski County - Sherwood

Saline County - Bryant

Saline County – Benton

Union County – El Dorado

White County - Searcy

Currently eligible communities under review (rural in character):

Benton County - Siloam Springs

Benton County – Centerton

Crawford County – Van Buren

Lonoke County - Cabot

Pope County – Russellville

Pulaski County – Jacksonville

Pulaski County - Sherwood

Pulaski County - Maumelle

Saline County - Bryant

Saline County - Benton

White County – Searcy

Ineligible communities under review (expansion of ineligible areas):

Benton County - Bentonville

Benton County - Rogers

Benton County - Springdale

Craighead County – Jonesboro

Garland County – Hot Springs

Jefferson County - Pine Bluff

Miller County - Texarkana

Pulaski County – North Little Rock

Pulaski County – Little Rock

Sebastian County – Fort Smith

Washington County - Springdale

Washington County - Fayetteville

Ineligible communities under review (reconsideration of eligibility):

N/A

The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to <u>RA.RD.ARLIT.DirSubm@usda.gov</u>. For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Arkansas Rural Development Housing Program staff at (501) 301-3235.