Notice of changes to eligible area maps for USDA Rural Development housing programs

USDA Rural Development has completed its 2020 decennial United States census review for all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for USDA Rural Housing programs. Based on the review of the areas within the state of Kentucky, using 2020 US census data, and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, <u>Chapter 5</u>, the rural eligibility designation has changed for the following areas:

Areas whose rural eligibility designations are changing from ineligible to <u>eligible</u> (these areas now qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs):

- The area/towns currently outside the city of Ashland, KY (Catlettsburg, West Fairview, Fairview, Westwood, Russell).
- The areas/towns currently outside the city of Paducah, KY (Hendron and Farley).
 - The cities of Ashland, KY and Paducah, KY will remain ineligible.

Areas whose rural eligibility designation is changing from eligible to <u>ineligible</u> (these areas no longer qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs):

1) Georgetown, KY – The city of Georgetown, KY, will no longer be eligible due to the population exceeding 35,000.

Changes become effective October 1, 2023.

The updated rural area map can now be viewed on our <u>eligibility website</u>. Users will need to click on the program, for example: "Single Family Housing Direct", and then click on "Proposed Eligibility Areas" from the menu options.

For a full list of changes, additional details, or questions about specific changes, please contact Blaine Barnes, SFH Program Director, at 859-224-7353.