September 6, 2023

NOTICE OF CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

USDA Rural Development has completed its 2020 decennial United States census review for all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for USDA Rural Housing programs. Based on the review of the areas within the state of Ohio, using 2020 US census data, and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, <u>Chapter 5</u>, the rural eligibility designation has changed for the following areas:

Areas that now qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs. The rural eligibility designations for these areas is changing from ineligible to eligible:

- 1) Scioto County New Boston
- 2) Scioto County Portsmouth
- 3) Tuscarawas County Dover
- 4) Tuscarawas County New Philadelphia

Areas where there has been an expansion of the ineligible areas around the city limits to include all areas annexed since 1990 and to include areas surrounded by incorporated or annexed areas. The rural eligibility designations for these annexed or surrounded areas is changing from eligible to <u>ineligible</u>:

- 1) Athens County Athens
- 2) Buter County Oxford
- 3) Butler and Warren Counties Middletown
- 4) Butler County Fairfield
- 5) Butler County Trenton
- 6) Clark County Springfield
- 7) Clermont County Amelia
- 8) Delaware County Delaware
- 9) Erie County Sandusky
- 10) Franklin County Grove City
- 11) Greene County Beavercreek
- 12) Greene County Fairborn
- 13) Greene County Xenia
- 14) Hamilton County Cincinnati
- 15) Hamilton County Harrison
- 16) Hamilton, Clermont, and Warren counties Loveland
- 17) Hancock County Findlay
- 18) Licking County Newark
- 19) Lorain County Avon Lake
- 20) Lorain County North Ridgeville



- 21) Lucas County Toledo
- 22) Mahoning County Youngstown
- 23) Marion County Marion
- 24) Medina County Brunswick
- 25) Medina County Wadsworth
- 26) Miami County Troy
- 27) Montgomery and Miami Counties Huber Heights
- 28) Montgomery County Kettering
- 29) Muskingum County Zanesville
- 30) Richland County Mansfield
- 31) Ross County Chillicothe
- 32) Stark County Canton
- 33) Stark County Massillon
- 34) Trumbull County Warren
- 35) Union County Marysville
- 36) Warren and Montgomery Counties Springboro
- 37) Warren County Lebanon
- 38) Wayne County Wooster
- 39) Wood County Bowling Green

Changes become effective October 1, 2023.

The updated rural area map can now be viewed on our <u>eligibility website</u>. Users will need to click on the program, for example: "Single Family Housing Direct", and then click on "Proposed Eligibility Areas" from the menu options.

For a full list of changes, additional details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Ohio Rural Development Housing Program Director at 614-255-2401.