

USDA South Carolina Rural Development Public Notice

NOTICE OF POTENTIAL CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

COLUMBIA, South Carolina, March 8, 2023 - USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data. Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.

Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, <u>Chapter 5</u>, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in South Carolina:

Currently eligible communities under review (rural in character):

- 1. Anderson County: City of Anderson
- 2. Berkeley County: Town of Moncks Corner/Adjacent Summerville and Goose Creek
- 3. Charleston County: Area Adjacent to City of Charleston/North Charleston/ Mount Pleasant
- 4. Dorchester County: Adjacent to Summerville/North Charleston
- 5. Greenwood County: Adjacent to City of Greenwood
- 6. Greenville County: Fountain Inn
- 7. Greenville: Five Forks: Community is currently partially eligible
- 8. Horry County: City of Conway/Carolina Forest/Garden City/Little River
- 9. Lexington County: Town of Lexington
- 10. Pickens County: City of Clemson
- 11. Richland County: Town of Irmo
- 12. Spartanburg/Greenville County: Greer/Boiling Springs
- 13. York County: Fort Mill/Tega Cay/Lake Wylie

Ineligible communities under review (expansion of ineligible areas):

- 14. Aiken County: City of Aiken/City of North Augusta
- 15. Anderson County: Anderson
- 16. Berkeley County: Goose Creek
- 17. Charleston County: City of Charleston/North Charleston/ Mount Pleasant
- 18. Dorchester County: Summerville
- 19. Florence County: City of Florence
- 20. Greenville County: Mauldin/Gantt/Simpsonville
- 21. Greenville/Spartanburg County: Greer
- 22. Horry County: Myrtle Beach
- 23. Richland County: Town of Irmo
- 24. Spartanburg County: City of Spartanburg
- 25. York County: Rock Hill



The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to RD.SCCO3.SFHDirect@usda.gov. For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the South Carolina Rural Development Housing Program staff at (803) 253-3093.