

USDA Tennessee Rural Development Public Notice

NOTICE OF POTENTIAL CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data. Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.

Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in Tennessee:

Currently eligible communities under review:

- 1. Wilson County Lebanon
- 2. Bedford County Shelbyville

Ineligible communities under review (expansion of ineligible areas):

- 3. Carter County Happy Valley
- 4. Sullivan County Kingsport / Bristol
- 5. Washington County Johnson City
- 6. Knox County Knoxville
- 7. Bradley County Cleveland
- 8. Davidson County Nashville
- 9. Sumner County Gallatin
- 10. Montgomery County Clarksville
- 11. Madison County Jackson
- 12. Rutherford County Murfreesboro
- 13. Williamson County Spring Hill
- 14. Maury County Columbia

The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to <u>SM.RD.TN.SFHDirect@usda.gov</u> For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Tennessee Rural Development Housing Program staff at (615) 783-1300.