NOTICE OF CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

USDA Rural Development has completed its 2020 decennial United States census review for all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for USDA Rural Housing programs. Based on the review of the areas within the state of Indiana, using 2020 US census data, and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB-1-3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation has changed for the following areas:

Areas whose rural eligibility designations is changing from ineligible to <u>eligible</u> (these areas now qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs):

- 1) Columbus (Bartholomew County)— Area southeast of Columbus with minimal development.
- 2) Muncie (Delaware County)— Areas on the north, east, and south sides of Muncie with minimal development and no city utilities
- 3) Daleville and Yorktown (Delaware County)— Areas north of Daleville and west of Yorktown with minimal development and no city utilities.
- 4) Goshen (Elkhart County) Area southwest of Goshen with minimal development
- 5) Marion (Grant County) Area southwest of Marion with minimal development
- 6) Kokomo (Howard County) Areas on the southwest, northwest, and northeast sides of Kokomo with minimal development
- 7) Franklin, Whiteland, New Whiteland (Johnson County) Areas surrounding Franklin, Whiteland, and New Whiteland with minimal development
- 8) La Porte (La Porte County) Area southwest and southeast of La Porte with minimal development
- 9) Michigan City (La Porte County) Area south of Michigan City with minimal development
- 10) Anderson (Madison County) Areas west, north, and east of Anderson. These areas not densely populated and do not have city utilities.
- 11) Chesterfield (Madison County)— The town is eligible by population.
- 12) Chesterton (Porter County) Area east of Chesterton with minimal development
- 13) Mishawaka (St. Joseph County) Area south of Mishawaka with minimal development
- 14) Richmond (Wayne County) Area on the north side of Richmond with minimal development
- 15) Fort Wayne (Allen County) Area northeast of Fort Wayne with minimal development.

Areas whose rural eligibility designations is changing from eligible to <u>ineligible</u> (these areas no longer qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs):

- 1) Fort Wayne (Allen County) Area west of Fort Wayne that is heavily developed.
- 2) Lebanon (Boone County) The city is no longer rural in character as defined by population (over 10,000 people) and population density (over 1,000 people per square mile)
- 3) Clarksville (Clark County) Small area surrounded by current ineligible area

- 4) Goshen and Elkhart (Elkhart County) Area on the northwest side of Goshen that was recently annexed, and area west of Elkhart that was recently annexed.
- 5) New Albany (Floyd County) Newly annexed area on the north side of New Albany
- 6) Noblesville and Westfield (Hamilton County) Heavily developed area recently annexed by Westfield, and area on the east side of Noblesville recently annexed by the city
- 7) McCordsville (Hancock County) Area north of McCordsville that is heavily developed
- 8) Danville (Hendricks County) The town is no longer rural in character as defined by population (over 10,000 people) and population density (over 1,000 people per square mile)
- 9) Lowell (Lake County) The town is no longer rural in character as defined by population (over 10,000 people) and population density (over 1,000 people per square mile)
- 10) Winfield (Lake County) Area on the south side of Winfield making the entire town ineligible
- 11) Anderson (Madison County) Recent areas annexed on the south side of Anderson, and a small area south of Anderson surrounded by the city.
- 12) Shelbyville (Shelby County) Area on the northwest side of Shelbyville that was recently annexed
- 13) West Lafayette (Tippecanoe County) Area on the northwest side of West Lafayette that was recently annexed
- 14) Brownsburg (Hendricks County) Area north of Brownsburg that is heavily populated

Changes become effective October 1, 2023.

The updated rural area map can now be viewed on our <u>eligibility website</u>. Users will need to click on the program, for example: "Single Family Housing Direct", and then click on "Proposed Eligibility Areas" from the menu options.

For a full list of changes, additional details, or questions about specific changes, please contact Vince Maloney with the Indiana Rural Development Housing Program Staff at 317-295-5774.