## NOTICE OF CHANGES TO ELIGIBLE AREA MAPS FOR USDA RURAL DEVELOPMENT HOUSING PROGRAMS

USDA Rural Development has completed its 2020 decennial United States census review for all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for USDA Rural Housing programs. Based on the review of the areas within the state of Wisconsin, using 2020 US census data, and rural area guidance located in Handbook <u>HB-1-3550</u>, <u>Chapter 5</u>, the rural eligibility designation has changed for the following areas:

Areas whose rural eligibility designations is changing from eligible to <u>ineligible</u> (these areas no longer qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs).

## **Currently eligible communities now ineligible:**

- 1. Dane County DeForest
- 2. Dane County Windsor
- 3. Dane County Waunakee
- 4. Dane County Oregon
- 5. Dane County Verona
- 6. Green County Monroe
- 7. La Crosse County Holmen
- 8. Ozaukee County Port Washington
- 9. Pierce County River Falls
- 10. Racine County Mount Pleasant
- 11. Racine County Caledonia
- 12. St. Croix County Hudson
- 13. St. Croix County River Falls
- 14. Waukesha County Sussex

Minor expansion of the ineligible areas around the city limits to include all annexed areas since the last periodic review.

## **Expansion of ineligible areas:**

- 1. Brown County Hobart
- 2. Dane County Waunakee
- 3. Douglas County Superior
- 4. Eau Claire County Eau Claire
- 5. Fond du Lac County Fond du Lac
- 6. La Crosse County La Crosse
- 7. La Crosse County Onalaska
- 8. Outagamie County Appleton
- 9. Portage County Stevens Point
- 10. Portage County Plover
- 11. Sheboygan County Sheboygan
- 12. Washington County Germantown
- 13. Washington County West Bend
- 14. Waukesha County Oconomowoc

- 15. Winnebago County Neenah
- 16. Winnebago County Oshkosh

## Changes become effective October 1, 2023.

The updated rural area map can now be viewed on our <u>eligibility website</u>. Users will need to click on the program, for example: "Single Family Housing Direct", and then click on "Proposed Eligibility Areas" from the menu options.

For a full list of changes, additional details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Wisconsin State Office in Stevens Point for Rural Development Housing Program Staff at 715-345-7611.