Midstates Community and Economic Development Conference

Tammi Schone
South Dakota
Release Date
Mar 23, 2015

The thirteenth annual Midstates Community and Economic Development Conference will be held Thursday, April 9 from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. at the Marina Inn, Fourth and B Streets in South Sioux City, Neb. The Midstates Community and Economic Development Conference is one of the largest rural development events in the three state region and is a joint project of twelve agencies and organizations in Iowa, Nebraska, and South Dakota. It is designed for local leaders and offers workshops on successful strategies and innovative ideas for rural development.

The keynote speaker and afternoon presenter this year will be Frank Spillers who will emphasize The Power of Engagement, this year’s conference theme. Frank will share the secrets to “The Be WUCA! Way-The Art of Getting Along.” He, with the assistance of his wife Kimberlee, will share what communities have to gain through The Be WUCA Way! (Welcome, Understand, Care, Appreciate).

Two breakout sessions will feature six presenters representing success stories in Iowa, Nebraska and South Dakota. Topics for these workshops include entrepreneurship, housing, leadership, youth and strategic partnerships. Towns represented will include Correctionville and Cumberland, Iowa; Hartington and Randolph, Nebraska; and De Smet and Madison, South Dakota.

Communities are encouraged to bring three or more representatives to the conference so one person can be at each of the three breakouts that will run concurrently. Registrations are due by April 2, and online registration is available at www.extension.iastate.edu/woodbury.

The planning committee for the Midstates conference is made up of Iowa State University Extension-Woodbury County; Nebraska Extension-Dakota County; USDA Rural Development of Iowa, Nebraska, and South Dakota; City of South Sioux City, Neb.; City of Hawarden, Iowa; East River Electric Power Cooperative; SCORE; Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council (SIMPCO); Dakota Resources; and Siouxland Economic Development Corporation.

Financial sponsors of the conference include Avera Health, Central Bank, City of South Sioux City, Dakota Resources, East River Electric Power Cooperative, Heidman Law Firm, LLP, Iowa Area Development Group, Iowa-Nebraska State Bank, Nebraska Public Power District, Northwest Iowa Development, Northwest Iowa Power Cooperative, Plymouth County Economic Development, Security National Bank, SIMPCO Council of Governments, Sioux City Journal, Siouxland Community Foundation, Siouxland Economic Development Corporation, The Siouxland Initiative, South Dakota Community Foundation, and Wells Enterprises.

For registration details and additional information, please contact ISU Extension-Woodbury County at (712) 276-2157 or visit www.extension.iastate.edu/woodbury.