Oregon Survivors Affected by Wildfires Can Apply for Federal Disaster Assistance

Erin McDuff
Release Date
Sep 21, 2020

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development encourages all Oregon residents, businesses, and communities affected by the wildfires that began on September 7 and are continuing through today to register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) as soon as possible.

You can complete the FEMA registration process using any of these methods:

  • Visit DisasterAssistance.gov.
  • Download the FEMA app.
  • Call 1-800-621-3362, TTY 1-800-462-7585, or if you use 711-relay or video relay services, call 1-800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone lines are operated from 7:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. PDT seven days a week.

FEMA's Individual Assistance Program for survivors has been made available in Clackamas, Douglas, Jackson, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, and Marion counties.

Disaster assistance may include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to homeowners, renters, and businesses. Call the SBA at 1-800-659-2955 or visit www.sba.gov/services/disasterassistance.

Public assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities has been made available in 20 Oregon counties: Benton, Clackamas, Columbia, Coos, Deschutes, Douglas, Jackson, Jefferson, Josephine, Klamath, Lake, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Tillamook, Wasco, Washington, and Yamhill.

All areas statewide are eligible to apply for hazard mitigation assistance.

Visit us online to learn about fire recovery assistance available through USDA Rural Development.