Water & Waste Disposal Predevelopment Planning Grants in Iowa

What does this program do?

This program assists low-income communities with initial planning and development of applications for USDA Rural Development Water and Waste Disposal direct loan/grant and loan guarantee programs.

Who may apply?

  • Most state and local governmental entities
  • Nonprofit organizations
  • Federally recognized tribes

What is an eligible area?

  • Rural areas and towns with populations of 10,000 or less. Check eligible addresses
  • Federally recognized tribal lands
  • Colonias  

NOTE: The area must also have a median household income below the poverty line or less than 80 percent of the statewide non-metropolitan median household income

How may the funds be used?

  • Grants may be used to pay part of the costs of developing a complete application for USDA Rural Development Water & Waste Disposal direct loan/grant and loan guarantee programs.

What are the terms for grants?

  • Grants may not be used to pay for work already completed.
  • For projects eligible under several programs, the amount of the pre-development or SEARCH grant will be subtracted from the total grant eligibility as determined in underwriting for the water or waste disposal project.
  • These grants do not have to be paid back if the application for the USDA direct loan or loan/grant combination is not successful.
  • Grants are based on demonstrated need and subject to the availability of funds.
  • Partnerships with other federal, state and local entities are encouraged, and grants are awarded only when the applicant cannot afford to borrow the needed funds.

Is there a maximum grant amount?

Maximum of $30,000 or 75 percent of the predevelopment planning costs.

Are matching funds required?

Yes, at least 25 percent of the project cost must come from the applicant or third-party sources. In-kind contributions do not count toward this minimum.

How do we get started?

  • Applications for this program are accepted year round through your local RD office.
  • Program resources are available online (includes forms needed, guidance, certifications, etc.).

Who can answer questions?

  • Help is always available through your local RD office.
  • Participating non-profit associations also offer assistance and training.

What governs this program?

  • Code of Federal Regulations, 7 CFR 1780
  • Agricultural Act of 2014

To begin the process of applying for a Water and Waste Disposal Predevelopment Planning Grant (PPG), complete and submit the following documents to your local Rural Development Office. Please use this as a checklist and submit with the listed applications documents.

  • SF 424, Application for Federal Assistance
  • SF 424B, Assurances
  • Instructions for Obtaining a DUNS #
  • SAM.GOV registration is required for all applicants applying for federal assistance
  • Public Information Requirements (publish at least 10 days prior to the meeting)
    • Along with signed minutes from the meeting are to be submitted
  • Resolution of Applicant's Board Authorizing Application
  • Organizational Documents/Articles of Incorporation and By-laws, including all amendments (Nonprofit Organizations Only)
  • Public bodies please contact your local Rural Development Office for guidance on documentation of organization and legal authority
  • Most current Fiscal Year's Audit or Year-End Financial Report with Balance Sheet and Income Statement (Forms RD 442-2 and RD 442-3 or similar format may be used)
  • Current Fiscal Year's Operating Budget for Enterprise (Form 442-2 or similar format may be used)
  • Certification that other credit is not available
  • Written Project Plan – provide details on the activities or tasks to be accomplished, objectives, timetables for completion and anticipated results
  • Draft Engineering Agreement
  • Certifications including:

NOTE: Please select your state in the dropdown menu above to find the state office contact information and speak to a program specialist before attempting to fill out any forms or applications. This will save you valuable time in your application.

National Architect Requirements:

There are no other architect, engineering or environmental requirements at the national level. If there are additional state-specific requirements they will be listed above. 

There are no other additional requirements at the national level. If there are additional state-specific requirements they will be listed above.

There are currently no events scheduled.

Kate Sand
Community Programs Director in Iowa
ph: 515-284-4459

Area Office Contacts
Area 1 - Iowa Falls Area Office
 Brandon Shaw, Community Programs Specialist
 840 Brooks Road
 Iowa Falls, IA 50126
 Phone: 641-648-5181 Ext. 4 Fax: 866-255-6573

Counties Served: Butler, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Hardin, Marshall, Mitchell, Tama and Worth
Area 2 - Waverly Area Office
 Deborah Dunn, Community Programs Specialist
 1510 3rd Street, SW
 Waverly, IA 50677
 Phone: 319-352-1715 Ext. 4 Fax: 866-255-6573

Counties Served: Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Fayette, Howard, and Winneshiek

Area 3 - Tipton Area Office
 Julie Ford, Community Programs Specialist
 127 West South Street
 Tipton, IA 52772
 Phone: 563-886-6006 Ext. 4 Fax: 866-255-6573

Counties Served: Benton, Cedar, Clinton, Dubuque, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, and Scott
Area 4 - Mt. Pleasant Area Office
 Sheri Rice, Community Programs Specialist
 709 S. Iris Street, Suite 103
 Mount Pleasant, IA 52641
 Phone: 319-986-5800 Ext. 4 Fax:  855-251-2237

Counties Served: Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Muscatine, Van Buren, and Washington
Area 5 - Albia Area Office
 Ellen Walker, Community Programs Specialist
 1709 South "B" Street
 Albia, IA 52531
 Phone: 641-932-3031 Ext. 4 Fax: 855-251-2237

Counties Served: Appanoose, Davis, Jasper, Lucas, Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Poweshiek, Wapello, and Wayne
Area 6 - Indianola Area Office
 Nick Nolte, Community Programs Specialist
 909 East 2nd Avenue, Suite C
 Indianola, IA 50125
 Phone: 515-961-5365 Ext. 4 Fax: 855-251-2238

Counties Served: Adair, Clarke, Dallas, Decatur, Guthrie, Madison, Polk, Ringgold, Union, and Warren

Area 7 - Atlantic Area Office
 Dee Fisher, Community Programs Specialist
 Jessica Bass, Community Programs Specialist
 511 West 7th Street
 Atlantic, IA 50022
 Phone: 712-243-2107 Ext. 4 Fax: 855-251-2238

Counties Served: Adams, Audubon, Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Montgomery, Page, Pottawattamie, Shelby, and Taylor

Area 8 - Le Mars Area Office
 Tyler Koopman, Community Programs Specialist
 1100 12th Street SW, Suite C
 Le Mars, IA 51031
 Phone: 712-546-5149 Ext. 4 Fax: 855-251-2245

Counties Served: Cherokee, Crawford, Ida, Lyon, Monona, O'Brien, Osceola, Plymouth, Sioux, and Woodbury

Area 9 - Storm Lake Area Office
 Whitney Pedersen, Community Programs Specialist
 1619 North Lake Avenue
 Storm Lake, IA 50588
 Phone: 712-732-1851 Ext. 4 Fax: 855-251-2245

Counties Served: Buena Vista, Calhoun, Carroll, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Greene, Palo Alto, Pocahontas, and Sac

Area 10 - Humboldt Area Office
 Preston Sandstrom, Community Programs Specialist
 1301 6th Avenue North, Suite 1
 Humboldt, IA 50548
 Phone: 515-332-4411 Ext. 4 Fax: 855-251-2245

Counties Served: Boone, Hamilton, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Story, Webster, Winnebago, and Wright