Program Summary Home Repair Loans & Grants

LOAN AMOUNT, FEES, TERMS, PURPOSES			
Maximum Amounts	 \$40,000—maximum amount of outstanding loan balance at any time \$10,000—maximum amount of lifetime grant assistance Both loans and grants are limited by applicant's repayment ability Loan and grant combinations are encouraged 		
Terms	 20 year term for loans Grants do not have to be repaid unless property is sold within 3 years of grant approval 		
Interest Rate	 Loans—1% fixed interest at closing No interest charged on grants 		
Purposes	 Grants must be used to remove health and safety hazards Loan funds can be used to repair, improve or modernize borrower's residence 		

APPLICANT GUIDELINES*			
Credit	 For grants, credit is not evaluated, however, applicant is ineligible if they have an outstanding judgment in US federal court (except tax court) No minimum credit score required by Rural Development Non-traditional credit is allowed for applicants with less than two scores 2 sources are required (utilities, insurance, etc.) Some instances of unacceptable credit Late payments Collections Judgements Bankruptcy w/in past 3 years Credit waivers are possible 		
Age Requirement	 For grants, applicant must be 62 years of age or older For loans, applicant must be 18 years of age or older 		
Employment	No minimum history requirement. Income must be considered stable and dependable.		

PROPERTY GUIDELINES*				
Property	 Must be in a rural area; typically, less than 20,000 population Must be owned and occupied by applicant Must be modest Area Loan Limits apply (all counties are at \$336,500 or higher) No income producing property 			

* Refer to the following resources for additional program requirements.		
HB-1-3550 http://www.rd.usda.gov/publications/regulations-guidelines/handbooks		
Income & Property Eligibility		
WI RD Direct Staff	715-345-7611 or SFHapplication@wi.usda.gov	



USDA Rural Development U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Wisconsin

Home Repair Program Income Limits

	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
County	1-4 Person Household	5-8 Person Household
Brown	\$45,100	\$59,550
Calumet	\$47,850	\$63,200
Chippewa	\$44,750	\$59,100
Columbia	\$46,250	\$61,050
Dane	\$57,650	\$76,100
Dodge	\$40,750	\$53,800
Door	\$41,150	\$54,350
Douglas	\$42,650	\$56,300
Dunn	\$41,050	\$54,200
Eau Claire	\$44,750	\$59,100
Fond du Lac	\$42,100	\$55,600
Green	\$44,400	\$58,650
lowa	\$45,250	\$59,750
Jefferson	\$44,050	\$58,150
Kenosha	\$44,750	\$59,100
Kewaunee	\$45,100	\$59,550
La Crosse	\$45,050	\$59,500
Lincoln	\$40,750	\$53,800
Manitowoc	\$40,350	\$53,300
Marathon	\$43,800	\$57,850
Monroe	\$40,750	\$53,800
Outagamie	\$47,850	\$63,200
Ozaukee	\$47,200	\$62,350
Oneida	\$40,500	\$53,500
Pepin	\$40,650	\$53,700
Pierce	\$58,650	\$77,450
Portage	\$44,950	\$59,350
Racine	\$43,150	\$57,000
Sauk	\$41,100	\$54,300
Sheboygan	\$42,300	\$55,850
St. Croix	\$58,650	\$77,450
Trempealeau	\$40,750	\$53,800
Walworth	\$44,000	\$58,100
Washington	\$47,200	\$62,350
Waukesha	\$47,200	\$62,350
Waupaca	\$40,750	\$53,800
Winnebago	\$42,500	\$56,100
Wood	\$40,150	\$53,000
All Other Counties*	\$40,150	\$53,000