Rev: 6/24/2025

Together, America Prospers

Program Summary

Direct Home Loans

LOAN AMOUNT, FEES, TERMS*			
Maximum Loan Amount	 100% of Appraised Value Cannot exceed Area Loan Limit—all counties are at \$419,300 or higher Limited by applicant's repayment ability 		
Loan Term	 33 years; some applicants may qualify for 38 years 30 years for manufactured homes 		
Interest Rate	 Fixed interest rate at closing. Rate can change monthly. Payment assistance can reduce actual interest rate to as low as 1%. 		

APPLICANT GUIDELINES*			
Credit	 No minimum credit score required by Rural Development All applicants must have credit scores from at least two credit repositories Non-traditional credit allowed for applicants with less than two scores 3 sources are required (utilities, insurance, etc.) Only 2 sources required if the applicant has at least 24 months of rental history Some instances of unacceptable credit: Late payments Collections Judgements Bankruptcy within past 3 years 		
Ratios	33% PITI / 41% TDR for very-low and low income applicants		
Employment	 No minimum history requirement Income must be considered stable and dependable 		

PROPERTY GUIDELINES*				
Property	 Must be decent, safe and sanitary—necessary repairs can be financed up to appraised value Must be modest Limitation on acreage financed No income producing property Safe water test required for private wells Well and/or septic inspection required for private systems Home inspection required 			
Condos	Typically, project must be approved by Fannie, Freddie, VA, or HUD			
Manufactured Homes	 EXISTING - Installed on permanent foundation - a manufacture date within 20 years from the date of closing - no alterations or modifications except for decks or porches NEW - Purchase of an eligible new unit, transportation and set-up costs, and purchase of an eligible site if not already owned by applicant. Must be placed on permanent foundation. 			

* Refer to the following resources for additional program requirements.				
HB-1-3550	http://www.rd.usda.gov/publications/regulations-guidelines/handbooks			
Income & Property Eligibility	https://eligibility.sc.egov.usda.gov/eligibility/welcomeAction.do			
WI RD Direct Staff	715-345-7611 or SFHapplication@usda.gov			





Wisconsin

Direct Program Income Limits

County	1-4 Person Household	5-8 Person Household			
Brown	\$85,600	\$113,000			
Calumet	\$89,200	\$117,750			
Chippewa	\$82,550	\$109,000			
Dane	\$103,850	\$137,100			
Dodge	\$78,800	\$104,050			
Door	\$80,650	\$106,500			
Douglas	\$80,500	\$106,300			
Dunn	\$79,050	\$104,350			
Eau Claire	\$82,550	\$109,000			
Fond du Lac	\$78,250	\$103,300			
Green	\$84,650	\$111,750			
Iowa	\$90,700	\$119,750			
Jefferson	\$87,700	\$115,750			
Kenosha	\$85,450	\$112,800			
Kewaunee	\$85,600	\$113,000			
La Crosse	\$85,900	\$113,400			
Lafayette	\$74,650	\$98,550			
Lincoln	\$76,000	\$100,350			
Manitowoc	\$75,600	\$99,800			
Marathon	\$79,050	\$104,350			
Oconto	\$78,300	\$103,400			
Oneida	\$77,050	\$101,750			
Outagamie	\$89,200	\$117,750			
Ozaukee	\$88,550	\$116,900			
Pepin	\$75,050	\$99,100			
Pierce	\$104,200	\$137,550			
Polk	\$78,000	\$103,000			
Portage	\$79,300	\$104,700			
Racine	\$78,900	\$104,150			
Rock	\$75,600	\$99,800			
Sauk	\$82,100	\$108,400			
Sheboygan	\$75,850	\$100,150			
St. Croix	\$104,200	\$137,550			
Trempealeau	\$78,150	\$103,200			
Vernon	\$76,300	\$100,750			
Walworth	\$87,700	\$115,800			
Washington / Waukesha	\$88,550	\$116,900			
Waupaca	\$75,850	\$100,150			
Winnebago	\$82,900	\$109,450			
All Other Counties*	\$74,250	\$98,050			
*Milwaukee County is ineligible for Rural Development Homeownership Programs					