U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


USDA Rural Development supports rural prosperity in Minnesota by investing in modern infrastructure such as high-speed internet and water and waste treatment systems. We help eligible rural Minnesotans buy or rent affordable housing, and we can partner with you to build or improve essential community facilities such as hospitals, libraries, and schools. We boost rural economic development by funding technical assistance for small business owners and entrepreneurs, helping them design robust business plans, find new markets, and promote their goods and services. We also help eligible businesses and manufacturers expand or improve, and we support energy programs that finance renewable systems for agriculture and industry. Because so many of our employees live and work in the very communities we serve, the USDA Rural Development mission is personal to us. It’s this commitment to our neighbors that sets us apart.

Scroll down to learn more about how we can help you and your community or visit our Minnesota contact page.


USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs.  The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data.  Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.    

Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB-1-3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in Minnesota:

Currently eligible communities under review:
  1. Big Lake
  2. Buffalo
  3. Faribault
  4. Monticello
  5. Northfield
  6. Owatonna
  7. St. Peter
  8. Waconia
  9. Willmar
Ineligible communities under review (expansion/reconsideration of ineligible areas) boundary adjustments:
  1. Austin area
  2. Duluth area
  3. Mankato area
  4. Moorhead area
  5. Twin Cities metropolitan area
  6. Rochester area
  7. St. Cloud area
  8. Winona area

The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice (March 7, 2023) to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs.  Comments should be sent to SFHDirectMN@usda.gov .  For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Minnesota Rural Development Housing Program staff at 763-689-3354, ext. 108.

Questions? Contact your local USDA Rural Development office!

View All Minnesota Contacts

Minnesota Contact Information

Minnesota Rural Development State Office
375 Jackson Street | Suite 410
St. Paul, MN 55101
(651) 602-7800

Questions about Multifamily Housing Programs? Call 1-800-292-8293