Opportunity Zones

Long-term investments to low-income communities, creating economic activity and jobs.

Rural Placemaking Innovation Challenge

Planning support and technical assistance to foster placemaking activities in rural communities.

Strategic Economic and Community Development

A Farm Bill provision that allows USDA to give priority for projects that support the implementation of regional economic development plans.

Promise Zones

Partnering with local leaders to give them proven tools to rebuild and put people back to work.

Interagency Working Group on Cooperative Development (IWGCD)

Established to foster cooperative development and ensure coordination with Federal agencies and national and local cooperative organizations that have cooperative programs and interests.

Substantially Underserved Trust Area (SUTA)

The SUTA provisions authorize the RUS to provide tools to help finance improvements in electric, telecommunications, water and sewer infrastructure in SUTA.

Small Scale Rural Renewable Energy Pilot

The Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2021(PL116-260) provided $10 million to USDA to develop a pilot program that provides financial assistance to rural communities to further develop renewable energy.