U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Xochitl Torres Small

Under Secretary for Rural Development

Xochitl Torres Small was confirmed by the United States Senate to serve as the Under Secretary for Rural Development on October 7, 2021. In this role, she oversees loans and grants to provide infrastructure improvements; business development; affordable housing; community facilities such as schools, public safety and health care; and high-speed internet access in rural, Tribal, and high-poverty areas. During her leadership, USDA Rural Development secured $2 billion to support rural broadband through the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law.
Meet our Under Secretary

Farah Ahmad

Deputy Under Secretary for Rural Development

Farah Ahmad serves as the Deputy Under Secretary for Rural Development. She has spent her career advancing policies and programs that promote economic inclusion and opportunity. Prior to this appointment, Ms. Ahmad served as Chief of Staff in the Office of the Under Secretary for Rural Development. 
Meet our Deputy Under Secretary

Dr. Basil Gooden

Director of State Operations for Rural Development

Dr. Gooden recently served as a Visiting Scholar in the Sustainable Food Access Core of the Institute for Inclusion, Inquiry and Innovation (iCubed) at Virginia Commonwealth University.
Meet our Director of State Operations

State Leadership

Map of the United States

State Director’s play a critical role in helping Rural Development focus on locally driven, community economic development strategies that build on the diverse assets and needs of rural places throughout America. Each state including the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is led by an appointed State Director, and in a few cases adjoining states are led by a single State Director.