U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Mutual Self-Help Housing Technical Assistance Grants in Indiana


What does this program do?
Provides grants to qualified organizations to help them carry out local self-help housing construction projects. Grant recipients supervise groups of very-low- and low-income individuals and families as they construct their own homes in rural areas. The group members provide most of the construction labor on each other’s homes, with technical assistance from the organization overseeing the project.

Who may apply for this program?
Eligible applicants include:

What is an eligible rural area?
Utilizing the USDA Eligibility Site you can enter a specific address for determination or just search the map to review general eligible areas.

How may funds be used?

  • Give technical and supervisory assistance to participating families
  • Help other organizations provide self-help technical and supervisory assistance
  • Recruit families, help them complete loan applications and carry out other related activities that enable them to participate

Funds MAY NOT be used to:

  • Hire people to perform construction work for participants
  • Buy real estate, building materials or other property
  • Pay debts, expenses or costs for the participants
  • Pay other indirect costs

How do we get started?
Applications for this program are accepted through our local offices year round.

Who can answer questions?
Contact your local office.

What governs this program?

Why does USDA Rural Development do this?
By working in partnership with trusted local organizations, this program helps very-low- and low-income families get affordable, clean and safe homes of their own in rural areas. Very-low-income families living in substandard housing are given first priority for loan assistance.

NOTE: Because citations and other information may be subject to change please always consult the program instructions listed in the section above titled "What Law Governs this Program?" You may also contact your local office for assistance.

NOTE: If state specific forms are not shown above, please ensure that your state is selected in the dropdown menu above to find the State Office contact information and speak to a Housing Programs Specialist before attempting to fill out any forms or applications. This will save you valuable time in your application.

Application Forms

Post Award Forms

There are no other additional requirements at the national level. If there are additional state-specific requirements they will be listed above.

Indiana State Office
5975 Lakeside Boulevard, Indianapolis, Indiana 46278-1996
Call us at 317-290-3100 TDD# 317-295-5799

Laura Hamann
SFH Program Director
Office: 260-244-6266, Ext. 122

Benjamin Grosvenor
SFH Specialist - Direct
Office: 765-216-4065

Columbia City Area Office
788 W. Connexion Way, Suite E, Columbia City, IN 46725-1047
Call us at 260-244-6266 EXT #4

Elizabeth (Liz) Stanley
SFH Specialist-Direct
260-244-6266 Ext: 121

Jennifer Dafforn-Koebler
SFH Assistant – Direct
Office: 260-244-6266, ext. 102

Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Huntington, LaGrange, Noble, Steuben, Wabash, Wells, and Whitley counties.

North Vernon Area Office
2600 Highway 7 North, North Vernon, IN 47265
Call us at 812-346-3411 EXT #4

Catherine (Cathie) Stratton
SFH Specialist – Direct
Office: 812-953-4174

Kevin Alvarez
SFH Assistant – Direct
Office: 812-953-4164

Bartholomew, Brown, Clark, Dearborn, Decatur, Floyd, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Lawrence, Morgan, Ohio, Ripley, Rush, Scott, Shelby, and Switzerland counties.

Muncie Area Office
3641 N Briarwood Lane, Muncie, IN 47304
Call us at 765-747-5531 EXT #4

Patrick O’Sullivan
SFH Technician – Direct & Administrative Assistant
Office: 317-295-5779

Blackford, Delaware, Fayette, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Jay, Madison, Randolph, Tipton, Union, and Wayne counties.

Crawfordsville Area Office
2032 Lebanon Road, Crawfordsville, IN 47933-2143
Call us at 765-362-0405 EXT #4

Cynthia (Cindy) Coleman
SFH Technician – Direct
Office: 765-362-0405, ext. 112

Clay, Boone, Fountain, Hendricks, Montgomery, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warren counties.

Jasper Area Office
1484 Executive Blvd, Jasper, IN 47546-9300
Call us at 812-482-1171 EXT #4

Terri Weyer
SFH Southern Team Lead

Sandra (Sandy) Fannin
SFH Specialist-Direct
Office: 812-817-3467

Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Gibson, Greene, Harrison, Knox, Martin, Monroe, Orange, Perry, Pike, Posey, Spencer, Sullivan, Vanderburgh, Warrick, and Washington counties.

Knox Area Office
1410 South Heaton St. Knox, IN 46534-2314
Call us at 574-772-3066 EXT #4

Patrick Allen
BP Specialist
Office: 574-249-7011

Gennifer Schaefer
SFH Specialist – Direct
Office: 574-249-7013

Benton, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, Elkhart, Fulton, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Lake, Marshall, Miami, Morgan, Newton, Porter, Pulaski, St. Joseph, Starke, and White counties.


There are currently no events scheduled.