Water & Waste Disposal Technical Assistance & Training Grants in Ohio

PROGRAM STATUS:

Closed

APPLICATION DEADLINE:

Next Application Window is from October 1st - December 31st each year.

What does this program do?

This program helps qualified, private nonprofits provide technical assistance and training to identify and evaluate solutions to water and waste problems; helps applicants prepare applications for water and waste disposal loans/grants; and helps associations improve the operation and maintenance of water and waste facilities in eligible rural areas.

Who may apply?

  • Nonprofits that have the proven ability, background, experience and capacity to provide technical assistance or training on a national, regional or state basis.

What is an eligible area?

  • Rural areas and towns with populations of 10,000 or less -- check eligible addresses
  • Tribal lands in rural areas

How may the funds be used?

  • To identify and evaluate solutions to water problems related to source, storage, treatment, distribution, collection, treatment and disposal.
  • To provide technical assistance and training to improve management, operations and maintenance of water and waste disposal systems.
  • To prepare water and waste disposal loan and grant applications.

Are there terms for grants?

  • The project period for these grants is one year starting Oct. 1 and ending Sept. 30.
  • Applicant contributions must be used before USDA grant funds.
  • This is a reimbursement grant.
  • Grants are subject to the availability of funds.

How do we get started?

Who currently participates in this program?

Who can answer questions?

Contact your local RD office
National Office contact: Lorrie Davis
(202) 720-1938
Lorrie.davis@usda.gov
 

What governs this program?

  • Code of Federal Regulations 7 CFR 1775
  • Section 306(a)(14)(A) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act 7 U.S.C. 1921 et seq.

Why does USDA Rural Development do this?

This program helps small communities extend and improve water and waste treatment facilities for households and businesses. Good practices can save tax dollars, improve the natural environment and may be necessary for manufacturers and other types of businesses to locate or expand operations.

NOTE: Program details may change over time. Before you begin an application, please confirm you have the most current information by contacting a program specialist in your local RD office for assistance, or consult the Program Instructions listed in the section above titled "What Governs this Program?"

FY 2020 Technical Assistance and Training and Solid Waste Management Application Guide | PDF

State Architect Requirements:

Architect:        Michael Davis
PHONE:           614-255-2429
EMAIL:             michael.davis@oh.usda.gov

 

National Architect Requirements:

There are no other architect, engineering or environmental requirements at the national level. If there are additional state-specific requirements they will be listed above. 

There are no other additional requirements at the national level. If there are additional state-specific requirements they will be listed above.

There are currently no events scheduled.

Community Programs Director: 
David M. Douglas (state office)
PHONE:            614-255-2391
EMAIL:              david.douglas@usda.gov

Specialist:        Charles Dietz (state office)
PHONE:            614-255-2431
EMAIL:              charles.dietz@usda.gov

FINDLAY AREA OFFICE DIRECTOR: 
Chris Spellmire
PHONE:            419-581-4498
EMAIL:              chris.spellmire@usda.gov  

Findlay Specialist: Mary Carr
PHONE:            419-581-4500
EMAIL:              mary.carr@usda.gov  

HILLSBORO AREA OFFICE DIRECTOR:
Ashley Kelly
PHONE:            937-393-1921 x127
EMAIL:              ashley.kelly@usda.gov

Hillsboro Specialist: Cindy Cameron
PHONE:            937-3931921 ext. 118
EMAIL:             cindy.cameron@usda.gov

MARIETTA AREA OFFICE DIRECTOR:
Brent Warren
PHONE:           740-885-3303
EMAIL:             brent.warren@usda.gov

Marietta Specialist: Teresa Ullman
PHONE:            740-885-3299
EMAIL:              teresa.ullman@usda.gov

MASSILLON AREA OFFICE DIRECTOR: 
John Miller
PHONE:            330-481-2215
EMAIL:              john.miller@usda.gov  

Massillon Specialist: Michael Antonille
PHONE:            330-481-2228
EMAIL:             michael.antonille@usda.gov

Civil Engineer: Matthew McCoppin (state office)
PHONE:            614-255-2421
EMAIL:              matthew.mccoppin@usda.gov  

Architect: Michael Davis (state office)
PHONE:            614-255-2429
EMAIL:              michael.davis5@usda.gov