U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.

Https

Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Single Family Housing Repair Loans & Grants in California

open


NOTE: California is currently participating in a pilot program that increases the program limits. Grants are available up to $10,000 (up from $7,500) and loans are available up to $40,000 (up from $20,000) with a maximum of $50,000 (up from $27,500) assistance. Contact our staff to learn more.

What does this program do? 
Also known as the Section 504 Home Repair program, this provides loans to very-low-income homeowners to repair, improve or modernize their homes or grants to elderly very-low-income homeowners to remove health and safety hazards.

For existing Section 502 direct and 504 borrowers who have received a payment moratorium related to COVID-19: The American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act of 2021 appropriated additional funds for Section 502 direct and 504 loans, to remain available until September 30, 2023.  The focus will be to refinance existing Section 502 direct and Section 504 borrowers who have received a payment moratorium related to COVID-19.  Beginning May 17, 2021, the Agency will accept applications from existing Section 502 direct and Section 504 loan borrowers, to refinance outstanding loans which have been in an approved COVID-19 moratorium.  Additional information for these borrowers, including a standardized application package, is available at https://pubmai.sc.egov.usda.gov/.

Who may apply for this program?
To qualify, you must:

  • Be the homeowner and occupy the house
  • Be unable to obtain affordable credit elsewhere
  • Have a household income that does not exceed the very low limit by county
  • For grants, be age 62 or older

What is an eligible rural area?
Utilizing the USDA Eligibility Site you can enter a specific address for determination or just search the map to review general eligible areas.

How may funds be used?

  • Loans may be used to repair, improve or modernize homes or remove health and safety hazards
  • Grants must be used to remove health and safety hazards

How much money can I get?

  • Maximum loan is $40,000
  • Maximum grant is $10,000
  • Loans and grants can be combined for up to $50,000 in assistance

What are the terms of the loan or grant?

  • Loans are termed for 20 years
  • Loan interest rate is fixed at 1%
  • Full title service is required if the total outstanding balance on Section 504 loans is greater than $25,000
  • Grants have a lifetime limit of $10,000
  • Grants must be repaid if the property is sold in less than 3 years

Is there a deadline to apply? 

  • Applications for this program are accepted through your local RD office year round

How long does an application take? 
Approval times depend on funding availability in your area. Talk to a USDA home loan specialist in your area for help with the application

Who can answer questions and how do I get started?
Contact a USDA home loan specialist in your area

What governs this program?

  • The Housing Act of 1949 as amended, 7 CFR Part 3550
  • HB-1-3550 - Direct Single Family Housing Loans and Grants Field Office Handbook

Why does USDA Rural Development do this?
Helping people stay in their own home and keep it in good repair helps families and their communities. Homeownership helps families and individuals build savings over time. It strengthens communities and helps many kinds of businesses that support the local economy.

NOTE: Because citations and other information may be subject to change, please always consult the program instructions listed in the section above titled "What Governs this Program?" Applicants may also contact your local office for assistance.

NOTE: Please select your state using the "Select your location" menu above.  By doing so, any state specific forms and resources will be shown above this note.

Applicant Resources:

Applicants interested in applying for a repair loan or grant can contact their local Rural Development office and provide the following documentation:

Borrower Resources:

Rural Development Staff and Application Packager Resources:

  • The 504 Automated Worksheet is a tool designed to identify what type of assistance a homeowner may receive; however, is not a final eligibility determination.  The tool can be used to package 504 loans and grants.
  • Repair packagers are not subject to the certified packaging process for purchase loans. Information regarding the 504 packaging process can be found in HB-1-3550, Chapter 3, Attachment 3-A.
  • Repair packagers must sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the State Office.
  • Allowable packaging fees to any public, tribe or private nonprofit organizations may be included in repair loans and grants.
  • Packagers are encouraged to visit the Direct Loan Application Packagers page for information and resources specific to packaging Section 502 Home Purchase Program.
  • Eligibility for repair assistance considers the applicant's age, household income, and Total Debt (TD) ratio. To qualify for a grant, the applicant must be 62 or older.

National Architect Requirements:

Individual states may have particular requirements based on state and local regulations. Please contact the state office in the state where your project is located.

There are no other additional requirements at the national level. If there are additional state-specific requirements they will be listed above.

State Office:
Main Phone Number: (530) 792-5800 extension 1
USDA Rural Development
Attn: Single Family Housing
430 G St, Agency 4169
Davis, CA 95616

Stephen Nnodim, Single Family Housing Program Director
stephen.nnodim@usda.gov (530) 792-5830

Contacts

Debbie Morris, State Loan Coordinator (South) 
debbie.morris@usda.gov | (530) 792-5820

Debbie Boyd, State Loan Coordinator (North) HPG Coordinator 
debbie.boyd2@usda.gov | (530) 217-6243

Maggie Slater, CA State Self Help Coordinator
magdalena.slater@usda.gov | (760) 347-3675 x122

Roger Gardner, Loan Specialist
rodger.gardner@usda.gov | (530) 792-5804

Paula Galvan, Loan Specialist
paula.galvan@usda.gov  | (530) 792-5823

Rosie Jaurige, Loan Technician
rosie.jaurige@usda.gov | (530) 792-5809

Eduardo Saavedra, Loan Assistant
eduardo.savaadera@usda.gov | (530) 792-5826

Guaranteed loans are centralized across the state

Email address: SFHGLPONE@usda.gov

Direct loan and grant contacts

Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama & Trinity Counties

Roger Horton, Area Coordinator  
roger.horton@usda.gov | (530) 691-5849

Andrea Harbert, Loan Specialist
andrea.harbert@usda.gov | (530) 691-5854

Alameda, Del Norte, Humboldt, Monterey, San Benito, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara & Santa Cruz Counties
Sylvia Barbosa, Area Coordinator
sylvia.barbosa@usda.gov | (831) 975-7738

Lupe Benavides, Loan Specialist
lupe.benavides@usda.gov | (831) 975-7738

Amador, Alpine, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, El Dorado, Lake, Marin, Mendocino, Mono, Napa, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Yolo & Yuba Counties

Nicole Roldan-Leben, Area Coordinator
nicole.roldan@usda.gov | (530) 693-3162

Barinder Kaur, Loan Specialist
barinder.kaur@usda.gov | (530) 693-3174

Sumanjeet Dhanju, Loan Specialist
Sumanjeet.dhanju@usda.gov | (530) 217-6252

Wanda Thompson, Loan Technician
wanda.thompson@usda.gov | (530) 217-6249

Fresno, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus & Tuolumne Counties

Liz Vannata, Area Coordinator
liz.vannata@usda.gov |(559) 490-8030

Doris Geisenheimer, Loan Specialist
doris.geisenheimer@usda.gov | (209) 205-4968

Alma Jaquez, Loan Specialist
alma.jaquez@usda.gov | 209-205-4970

Rebecca Didway, Loan Specialist
rebecca.didway@usda.gov | (559) 754-3158

Inyo, Kern, Kings, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Tulare & Ventura Counties

Stacy Lopez, Area Coordinator
stacy.lopez@usda.gov | (559) 754-3154

Fariha Harooni, Loan Specialist
fariha.harooni@usda.gov | (661) 281-2754

Imperial, San Diego, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside & San Bernardino Counties
Patty Coronado, Area Coordinator
patty.coronado@usda.gov | (760) 355-2208 x109

Teon Gore, Loan Specialist
teon.gore@usda.gov | (951) 902-6562

Carrie McLeod, Loan Specialist
carrie.mcleod@usda.gov | (760) 347-3675x120

La Tasha Kendrix, Loan Specialist
latasha.kendrix@usda.gov | (951) 902-6564

Alejandro Macias, Loan Specialist
alejandro.macias@usda.gov | (760) 355-2208 x105

Maurice Brundidge, Loan Specialist
maurice.brundidge1@usda.gov | (760)355-2208 X100

 

There are currently no events scheduled.