Program Compliance and Training Branch

The Program Compliance Branch is responsible for monitoring recipient compliance under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title VIII of the Fair Housing Act of 1988, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, The Americans with Disability Act of 1990, The Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972, The Equal Credit Opportunity Act, and The Civil Rights Restoration Act of 1987. The Program Compliance (PC) Branch provides key outreach and educational tools to empower Rural Development employees to administer the various (Business, Housing, and Utility) programs to rural America. The Branch performs the following functions:

  • Develop and conduct program civil rights and compliance training. Training modules are of a highly technical nature and specifically designed to various types of program facilities financed by the RD. Training is provided to internal and external customers and stakeholders.
  • Develop, analyze, evaluate and recommend policies, plans, regulations, standards and procedures to assure equal access to all RD programs and services are consistent with RD civil rights objectives, and suggest modifications where needed.
  • Advise field staff on the proper execution of forms, instructions, and guidelines. Determine areas where noncompliance exists and recommend corrective or remedial action for achieving full compliance.
  • Perform on-site reviews to evaluate State offices complaint processing responsibilities and implementation of civil rights policies by correlating information developed through investigations and compliance reviews as well as information from sources outside USDA on racial, gender and National Origin data on program participation.
  • Under Development

  • How to file a complaint

    To file a Program Discrimination complaint, you can contact the Rural Development Civil Rights staff via the “Contact Us” Button. An Available Specialist on Staff Will Be Happy to Assist You.

    For questions on issues or how to file a complaint you may contact the Rural Development Civil Rights staff at 1-800-787-8821, option 02.

    What is a Program Discrimination Complaint?

    Filing a Program Discrimination Complaint as a USDA Customer

    USDA prohibits discrimination against its customers. If you believe you experienced discrimination when obtaining services from USDA, participating in a USDA program, or a program that receives financial assistance from USDA, you may file a complaint with USDA. OASCR, through the Center for Civil Rights Enforcement, will investigate and resolve complaints of discrimination in programs operated or assisted by USDA.

    USDA prohibits discrimination on the bases of race, color, religion, sex, age, national origin, marital status, sexual orientation, familial status, disability, limited English proficiency, or because all or a part of an individual's income is derived from a public assistance program. In programs that receive Federal financial assistance from USDA, discrimination is prohibited on the bases of race, color, religious creed, sex, political beliefs, age, disability, national origin, or limited English proficiency. (Not all bases apply to all programs.) Reprisal is prohibited based on prior civil rights activity.

    To file a program discrimination complaint, you may obtain a complaint form by sending an email to SM.OASCR.Info. You or your authorized representative must sign the complaint form. You are not required to use the complaint form. You may write a letter instead. If you write a letter, it must contain all of the information requested in the form and be signed by you or your authorized representative. Incomplete information will delay the processing of your complaint. Employment civil rights complaints will not be accepted through this email address.

    Persons with disabilities who require alternative means for communication of program information (Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.), should contact USDA's TARGET Center at (202) 720-2600 (voice and TDD). Send your completed complaint form or letter by mail, fax, or email.

    By Mail
    U.S. Department of Agriculture
    Director, Center for Civil Rights Enforcement
    1400 Independence Avenue, SW
    Washington, DC 20250-9410
    Fax (202) 690-7442
    E-mail: program.intake@usda.gov

  • Name    Title    Phone    Email Address   
    Vacant Branch Chief, Program Compliance    
    Vacant Branch Chief, Program Complaints    
    Bertina Adams    Administrative Management Specialist    202-692-0096    Bertina.Adams@usda.gov      
    Brenda Woolard Equal Opportunity Specialist 919-873-2012 brenda.woolard@usda.gov
    Carolyn Turner    Equal Opportunity Specialist    254-742-9747    Carolyn.Turner@usda.gov      
    Cathy Beales    Equal Opportunity Specialist    318-584-5728    Cathy.Beales@usda.gov      
    Catrina Southall    Equal Opportunity Specialist    202-893-4415    Catrina.Southall@usda.gov      
    Craig Stroman    Equal Opportunity Specialist    302-358-4244    Craig.Stroman@usda.gov    
    Darren Kaihlanen    Equal Opportunity Specialist    405-446-2619    Darren.Kaihlanen@usda.gov      
    Derrin Jourdan    Equal Opportunity Specialist    530-204-7314    Derrin.Jourdan@usda.gov      
    Elizabeth Messervey    Equal Opportunity Specialist    618-267-7909    Elizabeth.Messervey@usda.gov      
    Heather Rhine-Bouie    Equal Opportunity Specialist    318-955-2387    Heather.Rhine-Bouie@usda.gov      
    Ivelisse Valentin    Equal Opportunity Specialist    202-690-4767    Ivelisse.Valentin@usda.gov      
    Janice (Renee) Allen Equal Opportunity Specialist 803-765-5247 janice.allen@usda.gov
    Jerry V. Frink Equal Opportunity Specialist 202-692-0357 jerry.frink@usda.gov
    Jim Hafner    Equal Opportunity Specialist    605-352-1134    Jim.Hafner@usda.gov    
    Michele Witt Equal Opportunity Specialist 859-224-7324 michele.witt@usda.gov
    Pauline Price    Equal Opportunity Specialist    202-692-0359    Pauline.Price2@usda.gov      
    Robert Harris    Equal Opportunity Specialist 202-720-0834    Robert.Harris@usda.gov    
    Terri Sneed    Equal Opportunity Specialist    202-642-0665    Terri.Sneed@usda.gov      
    Tonja Jackson    Equal Opportunity Specialist    202-692-0102    Tonja.Jackson@usda.gov      
  • Under Development

  • Under development

  • Types of Programs

    • Assisted – Multi-Family Housing (MFH); Rural Utilities Service (RUS); Rural Business-Cooperative Service (RBCS), Community Facilities (CF)
    • Guaranteed – (*interest credit only*)
    • Conducted – Single-Family Housing (SFH); Rural Business-Cooperative Service (RBCS)
    • Guaranteed Loans

    Discrimination by Type

    Learn about the various types of discrimination prohibited by the laws enforced by RD Instruction 1901-E and 7 CFR Part 15 Subpart A. We also provide links to the relevant laws, regulations and policy guidance, and also fact sheets, Q&As, best practices, and other information.

    • Age
    • Disability
    • Income Derived From Public Assistance
    • National Origin
    • Race
    • Color
    • Religion
    • Retaliation
    • Sex
    • Language Barriers
    • Familial Status
    • Marital Status
    • Sexual Orientation