U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Christopher Stewart
Release Date


September 1, 2023


USDA Rural Development has completed its 2020 decennial United States census review for all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for USDA Rural Housing programs.  Based on the review of the areas within the state of New York using 2020 US census data, and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB-1-3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation has changed for the following areas:


Areas whose rural eligibility designations is changing from ineligible to eligible (these areas now qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs):


  1. Peach Lake and its adjacent rural areas -  Putnam County
  2. Peach Lake, North Salem, Grant Corner, Mountain Lakes Park, Hudson Highland State Park Region and their adjacent rural areas – Westchester County
  3. Sloatsburg, Hillburn, Bear Mountain, Harriman, Bear Mountain Park Region and their adjacent rural areas  – Rockland County


Areas whose rural eligibility designations is changing from eligible to ineligible (these areas no longer qualify as rural for USDA Housing Programs):

  1. Carmel, Carmel Hills, Lake Carmel, Lake Peekskill, Oscawana Corners and their adjacent areas until rural space break occurs – Putnam County
  2. Towns of Northville, Mattituck. Laurel, Cutchogue, Peconic, Southold, Greenport, West Greenport, East Marion, Orient  – Suffolk County
  3. Highland on the Lake – Erie County


*Pre-existing ineligible communities amended for rural boundary adjustments:

  • Contiguous areas to Watertown - Jefferson County
  • Contiguous areas to Plattsburgh & Plattsburgh West - Clinton County
  • Contiguous areas to Hudson Falls & Fort Edward - Washington County
  • Contiguous areas to South Glens Falls, Ballston Spa, North Ballston Spa, Saratoga Springs, Milton, Clifton Park, Mechanicville & Country Knolls – Saratoga County 
  • Contiguous areas to Troy, Wynantsville, East Greenbush, & Hampton Manor – Rensselaer County
  • Contiguous areas to Albany & Westmere– Albany County
  • Contiguous areas to East Glenville & Rotterdam – Schenectady County
  • Contiguous areas to Binghamton, Endicott, Endwell, Johnson City, Chenango Bridge Vestal & Port Dickinson – Broome County
  • Contiguous areas to Rome, Utica, New Hartford, Oriskany, New York Mills, Yorkville, Whitesboro – Oneida County
  • Contiguous areas to Cortland, Homer, West Cortland & Polkville – Cortland County
  • Contiguous areas to Auburn & Melrose Park – Cayuga County
  • Contiguous areas to Syracuse, East Syracuse, Baldwinsville, Radisson, Seneca Knolls, Camillus, Fairmount, Nedrow, Solvay, Dewitt, Mattydale, Cicero, North Syracuse, Manlius & Fayetteville – Onondaga County
  • Contiguous areas to City of Oneida – Madison County
  • Contiguous areas to West Frankfort (near bordering City of Utica) – Herkimer County
  • Contiguous areas to Lockport and South Lockport & Niagara Falls – Niagara County
  • Contiguous areas to West Seneca, Clarence, Clarence Center, Lancaster, Hamburg, Orchard Park, Harris Hill, Wanakah & Depew – Erie County
  • Contiguous areas to Geneva, Canandaigua &Victor – Ontario County
  • Contiguous areas to Greece, Spencerport, West Chili & West Henrietta – Monroe County
  • Contiguous areas to Johnstown & Gloversville – Fulton County
  • Contiguous areas to Dunkirk, Fredonia, Jamestown, West Jamestown & Lakewood – Chautauqua County
  • Contiguous areas to City of Fulton & Oswego – Oswego County
  • Contiguous areas to Middletown, Scotchtown, Kiryas Joel, Walton Park, Monroe, Harriman, Woodbury, Balmville, Gardnertown, Orange Lake, Cornwall on Hudson, Vails Gate & Firthcliffe– Orange County
  • Contiguous areas to west and northwest of Mahopac – Putnam County
  • Contiguous areas to Beacon, Fishkill, East Fishkill, Stormville, Sylvan Lake, Freedom Plains, Pleasant Valley & Haviland – Dutchess County
  • Contiguous areas to Port Ewen, Hillside, Hurley, Kingston, Lake Katrine & Lincoln Park – Ulster County
  • Contiguous areas to Southport, West Elmira, Elmira, Elmira Heights, Big Flatts, Horseheads & North Horseheads – Chemung County
  • Contiguous areas to the west of West Glens Falls & north of North Glens Falls – Warren County
  • Contiguous areas to Ithaca, Lansing, South Hill, East Ithaca & Northeast Ithaca – Tompkins County


*Rural area boundary adjustments occurred in the pre-existing ineligible areas noted above.  Areas were slightly expanded or contracted to follow town, city and village boundaries where changes occurred since last review, or to better delineate open space breaks between existing rural and non-rural areas.


Changes become effective October 1, 2023. 

The updated rural area map can now be viewed on our eligibility websiteUsers will need to click on the program, for example: “Single Family Housing Direct”, and then click on “Proposed Eligibility Areas” from the menu options.

For a full list of changes, additional details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the New York Rural Development Housing Program Staff at (315) 477-6417.