U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Christopher Stewart
Release Date

USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs.  The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data.  Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.           


Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB-1-3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in New York:


Currently eligible communities under review (population):
  • Carmel & Lake Carmel (contiguous communities) – Putnam County
Currently eligible communities under review (contiguous to ineligible areas)
  • East Kingston – Ulster County 
  • Northville, Mattituck. Laurel, Cutchogue, Peconic, Southold, Greenport, West Greenport, East Marion, Orient, Shelter Island & Shelter Island Heights – Suffolk County
Ineligible communities under review (reconsideration of eligibility):
  • Peach Lake and surrounding area – Putnam County
  • Peach Lake, North Salem, Lake Katonah and surrounding areas – Westchester County
  • Sloatsburg, Hillburn, Bear Mountain, Harriman & Bear Mountain Park Region – Rockland County


Currently eligible communities under review (rural in character):
  • Fort Drum CDP - Jefferson County


Ineligible communities under review (*rural boundary adjustments):

  • Contiguous areas to Watertown - Jefferson County
  • Contiguous areas to Plattsburgh & Plattsburgh West - Clinton County
  • Contiguous areas to Hudson Falls & Fort Edward - Washington County
  • Contiguous areas to South Glens Falls, Ballston Spa, North Ballston Spa, Saratoga Springs, Milton, Clifton Park, Mechanicville & Country Knolls – Saratoga County 
  • Contiguous areas to Troy, Rensselaer, Wynantsville, East Greenbush, & Hampton Manor – Rensselaer County
  • Contiguous areas to Albany, Westmere, & Colonie – Albany County
  • Contiguous areas to East Glenville, Scotia, Schenectady & Rotterdam – Schenectady County
  • Contiguous areas to Binghamton, Endicott, Endwell, Johnson City, Chenango Bridge Vestal & Port Dickinson – Broome County
  • Contiguous areas to Rome, Utica, New Hartford, New York Mills, Yorkville, Whitesboro, Washington Mills & Chadwicks – Oneida County
  • Contiguous areas to Cortland, Homer, Munsons Corners, West Cortland & Polkville – Cortland County
  • Contiguous areas to Auburn & Melrose Park – Cayuga County
  • Contiguous areas to Syracuse, East Syracuse, Liverpool, Baldwinsville, Radisson, Seneca Knolls, Camillus, Fairmount, Nedrow, Solvay, Dewitt, Mattydale, Lyncourt, Cicero, North Syracuse, Manlius & Fayetteville – Onondaga County
  • Contiguous areas to City of Oneida – Madison County
  • Contiguous areas to West Schuyler & West Frankfort (bordering City of Utica) – Herkimer County
  • Contiguous areas to Lockport and South Lockport, Niagara Falls & North Tonawanda – Niagara County
  • Contiguous areas to Buffalo, West Seneca, Tonawanda, Lancaster, Hamburg, Orchard Park, Harris Hill, Williamsville,  Eggertsville, Wanakah & Depew – Erie County
  • Contiguous areas to Geneva, Canandaigua &Victor – Ontario County
  • Contiguous areas to Greece, Spencerport, West Chili & West Henrietta – Monroe County
  • Contiguous areas to Johnstown & Gloversville – Fulton County
  • Contiguous areas to Dunkirk, Fredonia, Jamestown, West Jamestown, Falconer & Lakewood – Chautauqua County
  • Contiguous areas to City of Fulton & Oswego – Oswego County
  • Contiguous areas to Middletown, Scotchtown, Kiryas Joel, Walton Park, Monroe, Harriman, Woodbury, Balmville, Gardnertown, Orange Lake, Cornwall on Hudson, Vails Gate, Firthcliffe & New Windsor – Orange County
  • Contiguous areas to Mahopac – Putnam County
  • Contiguous areas to Beacon, Fishkill, East Fishkill, Stormville, Sylvan Lake, Freedom Plains, Hillside Lake, Pleasant Valley, Hyde Park & Haviland – Dutchess County
  • Contiguous areas to Port Ewen, Hillside, Hurley, Kingston, Lake Katrine & Lincoln Park – Ulster County
  • Contiguous areas to Southport, West Elmira, Elmira, Elmira Heights, Big Flatts, Horseheads & North Horseheads – Chemung County
  • Contiguous areas to Glens Falls, West Glens Falls & North Glens Falls – Warren County
  • Contiguous areas to Ithaca, Lansing, South Hill, East Ithaca & Northeast Ithaca – Tompkins County


*Review will entail minor boundary adjustments surrounding the current ineligible areas noted above.  Areas may be slightly expanded or contracted to better delineate open space between existing rural and non-rural areas.


The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs.  Comments should be sent to RA.nysyracuse.grh@usda.gov  For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the New York Rural Development Housing Program staff at (315) 477-6417.