U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


Release Date

USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data. Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.

Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB-1-3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in Florida:

Currently eligible communities under review (rural in character, contiguous with or expanding from currently ineligible areas):

  1. Navarre, Santa Rosa County
  2. Pensacola, Escambia County
  3. Four Corners, Lake County, Polk County, Orange County, and Osceola County
  4. Oviedo, Seminole County
  5. Ocala, Marion County
  6. Port Orange, Volusia County
  7. Ormond Beach, Volusia County
  8. Titusville, Brevard County
  9. Sanford, Seminole County
  10. Apopka, Orange County
  11. Plant City, Hillsborough County
  12. Cloud, Osceola County
  13. Clermont, Lake County
  14. Land O’ Lakes, Pasco County
  15. Four Corners, Orange, Polk, and Osceola
  16. Winter Haven, Polk County
  17. Valrico, Hillsborough County
  18. North Port, Sarasota County
  19. Fort Pierce, St. Lucie County
  20. Bradenton, Manatee County
  21. Crestview City, Okaloosa County
  22. Niceville, Okaloosa County
  23. Pace, Santa Rosa County
  24. Milton, Santa Rosa County
  25. Lynn Haven, Bay County
  26. Callaway City, Bay County
  27. Fleming Island (CDP), Clay County
  28. Lakeside, Clay County
  29. Fernandina Beach, Nassau County
  30. Lake Butler, Union County
  31. Apollo Beach, Hillsborough County
  32. Ruskin, Hillsborough County
  33. Vero Beach South, Indian River County
  34. Haines City, Polk County
  35. Highland City, Polk County
  36. Lake Highlands, Polk County
  37. Fuller Heights, Polk County
  38. Zephyrhills, Pasco County
  39. Celebration, Osceola County
  40. Vero Beach South, Indian River County
  41. Naples, Collier County
  42. Immokalee, Collier County

Newly ineligible communities under review (expansion of current ineligible areas):

  1. Ferry Pass, Escambia County
  2. Ensley, Escambia County
  3. Warrington, Escambia County
  4. Oakleaf Plantation, Clay County
  5. Fleming Island, Clay County
  6. Augustine City, St. Johns County
  7. Palm Valley, St. Johns County
  8. Mount Dora, Lake County
  9. Minneola City, Lake County
  10. Tavares, Lake County
  11. Eustis, Lake County
  12. Lady Lake Town, Lake County
  13. DeBary City, Volusia County
  14. Orange City, Volusia County

The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to SM.RD.FLSFH.Origination@usda.gov. For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the Florida State Rural Development Housing Program staff at 352-338-3435.