U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Notice of Potential Changes to Eligible Area Maps for USDA Rural Development Housing Programs

Christopher Freeman
Release Date

USDA Rural Development is conducting a review of all areas under its jurisdiction to identify areas that no longer qualify as rural for housing programs. The last rural area reviews were performed in 2017-2018 using 2015 American Community Survey (ACS) data. Rural area designations are reviewed every five years. This review will utilize the 2020 United States decennial census data.

Based on the 2020 US census data and rural area guidance located in Handbook HB-1-3550, Chapter 5, the rural eligibility designation is under review for the following areas in North Dakota:

Currently eligible communities under review:

  1. Dickinson
  2. Williston
Ineligible communities under review (expansion of ineligible areas):
  1. Bismarck/Mandan
  2. Fargo/West Fargo
  3. Grand Forks
  4. Minot

The public shall have 90 days from the date of this public notice to submit comments regarding the potential loss of eligibility for Rural Development housing programs. Comments should be sent to info@nd.usda.gov . For details, or questions about specific changes, please contact the North Dakota Rural Development Housing Program staff at (701) 495-7690.