U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USDA Awards over $8 Million to Improve Water and Wastewater Infrastructure in Rural Missouri

Lindsay Cheek
Release Date

United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development State Director for Missouri Jeff Case today announced that USDA is investing over $8 million to five recipients across the state to help rebuild and improve rural water infrastructure.

“Access to clean, safe drinking water and a modern, functioning wastewater system is crucial to the prosperity of rural communities,” said Case.  “The projects announced today will ensure necessary water and wastewater improvements are made for over 2,000 rural Missourians.”

Case made today’s announcement in coordination with a nationwide statement from Assistant to the Secretary for Rural Development Anne Hazlett.  Hazlett announced that USDA is investing $1.2 billion in 235 water and environmental infrastructure projects through the department’s Water and Waste Disposal Loan and Grant program. The funding can be used for drinking water, stormwater drainage and waste disposal systems for rural communities with 10,000 or fewer residents.

“Access to water is a key driver for economic opportunity and quality of life in rural communities,” Hazlett said. “Under the leadership of Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue, USDA is committed to being a strong partner to rural communities in building prosperity through modern water infrastructure.”

USDA is making investments in rural communities in 46 states.  Investments in Missouri include:

  • Cooper County Public Water Service District #1 will use a $3,870,000 loan to make improvements to the District's water system. The funding will develop a well, construct a 200,000-gallon ground storage tank, make water main improvements that will connect both sides of the District, provide line improvements, and other system upgrades.  These improvements will provide a safe and sanitary water system for the District’s 825 users.
  • The Village of Sunrise Beach will receive a $1,433,000 loan and $1.309,000 grant to construct a wastewater collection and treatment system for the northern portion of the Village of Sunrise Beach.  Expanding the Village's wastewater collection and treatment system will allow for further residential and commercial development in this area of Lake of the Ozarks, while improving the lake's eco-structure. Sunrise Beach is a truly rural community of 431 in central Missouri's Camden County.
  • A $488,000 loan and a $633,000 grant will be used to complete water system improvements to MO-ARK Water Company's water system. The project was initially funded in Fiscal Year 2016 and this funding will cover cost overruns to complete the addition of more than 93,000 linear feet of water distribution lines, ultimately extending water service to an additional 150 customers. MO-ARK currently serves 535 residents comprised mostly of residential connections in Lampe, Blue Eye, and the surrounding area.
  • Newton County Public Water Service District #1 will use a $100,000 loan to complete water system improvements.  This project was initially funded in Fiscal Year 2016 and this funding will cover cost overruns on the initial project.  Enhancements include replacing lines and improving water storage. Newton County PWSD #1 serves 338 residents comprised mostly of residential connections located in the communities of Stark City and Newtonia, Mo. 
  • The City of Clarksville will receive a $52,000 loan and $309,000 grant to improve the City’s water system. Planned improvements include a new storage tank, a new Supervisory Control and Data Acquisition (SCADA) system, and distribution line improvements throughout the City. Clarksville is located in a truly rural area in northeast Missouri, with a population of 442.

Eligible rural communities and water districts can apply to the Water and Waste Disposal Loan and Grant program online for funding to maintain, modernize or build water and wastewater systems. They can visit the interactive RD Apply tool, or they can apply through one of USDA Rural Development’s local field offices in Missouri.

In April 2017, President Donald J. Trump established the Interagency Task Force on Agriculture and Rural Prosperity to identify legislative, regulatory and policy changes that could promote agriculture and prosperity in rural communities. In January 2018, Secretary Perdue presented the Task Force’s findings to President Trump. These findings included 31 recommendations to align the federal government with state, local and tribal governments to take advantage of opportunities that exist in rural America. Increasing investments in rural infrastructure is a key recommendation of the task force.

To view the report in its entirety, please view the Report to the President of the United States from the Task Force on Agriculture and Rural Prosperity (PDF, 5.4 MB). In addition, to view the categories of the recommendations, please view the Rural Prosperity infographic (PDF, 190 KB).

USDA Rural Development provides loans and grants to help expand economic opportunities and create jobs in rural areas. This assistance supports infrastructure improvements; business development; housing; community facilities such as schools, public safety and health care; and high-speed internet access in rural areas.

Contact USDA Rural Development

Information on programs available through USDA Rural Development is available by visiting www.rd.usda.gov/mo or by calling (573) 876-0976.

USDA Rural Development has 24 offices across the state to serve the 2.2 million residents living in rural Missouri.  Office locations include a State Office in Columbia, along with local offices in Butler, Charleston, Chillicothe, Clinton, Dexter, Eldon, Farmington, Higginsville, Houston, Kennett, Kirksville, Maryville, Mexico, Moberly, Neosho, New London, Poplar Bluff, Richmond, Rolla, Sedalia, Springfield, St. Joseph, Troy, and West Plains.