U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USDA Invests in Community Facilities Improvements to Benefit over 5,000 Rural Residents in Southeast Missouri

Lindsay Cheek
Release Date

U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Rural Development Missouri State Director Jeff Case today announced the City of Campbell Downtown Development and the East Prairie Municipal Corporation are receiving funding to address essential needs in their communities.

“Missouri’s rural communities deserve the same opportunities for success and prosperity as their urban counterparts,” said Case.  “USDA is pleased to partner with these communities across the state to address essential facility and equipment needs because with rural America thrives, all of America thrives.”

The City of Campbell Downtown Development is receiving a $29,200 loan and a $26,800 grant to purchase a backhoe, which will be leased to the city of Campbell.  Historically, the city has had to outsource for repairs and improvements to its streets, water and sewer systems, and other projects. This has resulted in the city paying high service fees and labor charges.  The purchase of a backhoe allows city personnel to address these types of issues on their own.  The equipment will provide the city a more economical and reliable resource necessary to improve quality of life of this rural community.

The East Prairie Municipal Corporation is receiving a $40,500 loan and $49,500 grant to purchase equipment for the city of East Prairie's police, fire, and maintenance departments.  New radios will replace the police department's current radios, new breathing apparatus and turn out gear will better protect fire fighters when fighting fires, and the city's maintenance department will utilize a mower and mixer so city personnel no longer need to outsource repairs and improvements.

Today’s announcement came as part of a larger statement from USDA Deputy Under Secretary for Rural Development Donald “DJ” LaVoy in which he announced that USDA is investing $139 million in 56 projects to improve community facilities and provide essential services for 3.3 million rural residents in 23 states.

USDA is making the investments through the Community Facilities Direct Loan Program. Interested parties should contact their USDA Rural Development local office for information about additional funding, application procedures and eligibility details. Also see the Community Facilities Direct Loan Program Guidance Book for Applicants, a detailed overview of the application process.

More than 100 types of projects are eligible for Community Facilities program funding. Eligible applicants include municipalities, public bodies, nonprofit organizations and federally recognized Native American tribes. Projects must be in rural areas with a population of 20,000 or less.  USDA had $2.8 billion available for Community Facilities direct loans and grants in fiscal year 2019. USDA will make additional funding announcements in coming weeks.

USDA Rural Development provides loans and grants to help expand economic opportunities and create jobs in rural areas. This assistance supports infrastructure improvements; business development; housing; community facilities such as schools, public safety and health care; and high-speed internet access in rural areas. For more information, visit www.rd.usda.gov.

Contact USDA Rural Development

Information on programs available through USDA Rural Development is available by visiting www.rd.usda.gov/mo or by calling (573) 876-0976.

USDA Rural Development has 25 offices across the state to serve the 2.2 million residents living in rural Missouri.  Office locations include a State Office in Columbia, along with local offices in Butler, Charleston, Chillicothe, Clinton, Dexter, Eldon, Farmington, Higginsville, Houston, Kennett, Kirksville, Maryville, Mexico, Moberly, Neosho, New London, Poplar Bluff, Richmond, Rolla, Sedalia, Springfield, St. Joseph, Troy, and West Plains.