U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USDA makes technical assistance available to help KY rural communities recover, increase resiliency of water infrastructure damaged by natural disasters in 2022

Greg Thomas
Release Date

U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development Kentucky State Director Dr. Tom Carew today announced the availability of grants to help rural and Tribal communities recover and increase resiliency of water, wastewater, stormwater, and solid waste infrastructure damaged by presidentially declared disasters in 2022.

“The Biden-Harris Administration and USDA stand ready to help people rebuild their lives and their communities,” said Carew. “The assistance I'm announcing today will help make sure rural communities across this state who were impacted by natural disasters last year have the resources they need to recover and increase the resiliency of their water, wastewater, stormwater, and solid waste infrastructure. This funding is critical because we know that rural America is home to millions of people who make up America’s spirit and character.”

USDA is making more than $8 million in grants available through the 2022 Disaster Circuit Rider Technical Assistance Grants Program .

Funds may be used to provide on-site technical assistance to:

  • Support post-disaster mitigation of eligible events.
  • Identify and evaluate solutions to impacted water, wastewater, stormwater and solid waste challenges.
  • Help communities develop and prepare applications for water, wastewater, stormwater, and solid waste loans and grants.
  • Deliver training and other resources to operators, managers and other system personnel.
  • Provide certain technical assistance efforts that support the resiliency and capacity of eligible systems. 
  • Pay certain expenses associated with the provision of such services. 

The following Kentucky counties have 2022 presidentially declared disaster areas:

  • Boyd County
  • Breathitt County
  • Carter County
  • Casey County
  • Christian County
  • Clay County
  • Cumberland County
  • Floyd County
  • Green County
  • Harlan County
  • Johnson County
  • Knott County
  • Lawrence County
  • Lee County
  • Leslie County
  • Letcher County
  • Lincoln County
  • Magoffin County
  • Martin County
  • Owsley County
  • Perry County
  • Pike County
  • Powell County
  • Taylor County
  • Whitley County
  • Wolfe County

Applications must be submitted between Sept. 28, 2023, and 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time and 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time on Oct. 30, 2023, via Grants.gov .

For more information on how to apply, see page 66797 of the Sept. 28, 2023, Federal Register .

Rural Development provides loans and grants to help expand economic opportunities, create jobs and improve the quality of life for millions of Americans in rural areas. This assistance supports infrastructure improvements; business development; housing; community facilities such as schools, public safety and health care; and high-speed internet access in rural, tribal and high-poverty areas. For more information, visit www.rd.usda.gov.