U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock () or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USDA Rural Development helps 8 rural KY communities recover from disasters

Greg Thomas
Release Date

In the three months since U.S. Department of Agriculture Rural Development Kentucky State Director Hilda Legg first announced a new pot of USDA money to help disaster-stricken counties recover, eight communities have taken advantage of her message to the tune of over $332,000.

“When a natural disaster strikes, impacted communities often have to put planned projects on hold and divert money to disaster response,” said Legg. “These investments will help our rural communities get those delayed projects back on track.”

Legg announced funding for these investment in September, and applications will continue to be accepted at USDA offices on a continual basis until the $6.5 million in disaster funds is exhausted. Grant assistance will be provided on a graduated scale; smaller communities with the lowest median household income are eligible for a higher proportion of grant funds. Grants will be awarded following traditional Community Facilities Program guidelines; for application details and additional information, see page 47477 of the Sept. 10 Federal Register.


Rural Development Investment

Total Project Cost

Wolfe County Search & Rescue

$50,000 grant


Perry County Fiscal Court

$24,400 grant


City of Bardwell

$46,100 grant
$15,500 loan


Breathitt County Fiscal Court

$46,700 grant


City of Columbia

$30,600 grant


Casey County Fiscal Court

$50,000 grant


City of Edmonton

$39,100 grant


Owsley County Fiscal Court

$29,700 grant


Eligible Kentucky counties include Adair, Ballard, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Campbell, Carlisle, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Clay, Crittenden, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Graves, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Livingston, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Marshall, Martin, McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Metcalfe, Morgan, Nicholas, Ohio, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rockcastle, Russell, Spencer, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, and Wolfe.

In April 2017, President Donald J. Trump established the Interagency Task Force on Agriculture and Rural Prosperity to identify legislative, regulatory and policy changes that could promote agriculture and prosperity in rural communities. In January 2018, Secretary Perdue presented the Task Force’s findings to President Trump. To view the report in its entirety, please view the Report to the President of the United States from the Task Force on Agriculture and Rural Prosperity (PDF, 5.4 MB). In addition, to view the categories of the recommendations, please view the Rural Prosperity infographic (PDF, 190 KB).

USDA Rural Development provides loans and grants to help expand economic opportunities and create jobs in rural areas. This assistance supports infrastructure improvements; business development; housing; community facilities such as schools, public safety and health care; and high-speed internet access in rural areas. For more information, visit www.rd.usda.gov.